Team Nthakomwa wins PCL golf


A team comprising golfers Moses Nthakomwa, Lincoln Bailey, Jeremiah Magaba and Agness Penemulungu emerged winners during this year’s Press Corporation Limited (PCL) invitational golf tournament played at Lilongwe Golf Club (LGC) on Sunday.

Nthakomwa (left) receiving a trophy from PCL board chairperson Simon Itaye
Nthakomwa (left) receiving a trophy from PCL board chairperson Simon Itaye

Playing in stableford format, Team Nthakomwa was followed on second position by Team Hara comprising Sangwani Hara, Medson Roka, William Chimpeni and Hutch Nthinda.

On position three was Team Odillo, which comprised former Malawi Defence Force (MDF) commander general Henry Odillo, Andrew Barron, Stallard Mpata and Adam Sailesi.

Speaking on behalf of Team Nthakomwa, Bailey thanked the sponsors for taking the tournament to Lilongwe and attributed the team’s success to the combination of youth, grace and experience.

“If you see in our team, we had a blend of youth, grace and experience, and you cannot beat that,” said Bailey.

In subsidiary prizes, Regina Mwanza won the women’s longest drive accolade while Adam Sailesi won the same award in the men’s category.

Nearest to the pin was Felister Kilembe for the women’s and Victor Kachepatsonga for the men while Lucky Penemulungu won nearest to the pin on hole number two.

Francis Mwansa won the longest drive, but surrendered his prize to veteran golfer Tony Kandiero because the former works for Malawi Telecommunications Limited (MTL), which is a subsidiary of PCL, sponsors of the tournament.

PCL group chief executive officer Matthews Chikaonda explained to the golfers some of the developments happening in the group of companies like the launch of the Peoples/Spar franchise shop in Lilongwe and the pioneering of the ethanol -driven vehicle project.

He assured the golfers that PCL will come back with another tournament at LGC next year.

LGC captain Justice Ken Manda thanked PCL for bringing the tournament to the club and said 73 golfers participated in the event.

The winners received various prizes from PCL subsidiary companies, which included Carlsberg Malawi, MTL, Peoples/Spar, Puma Energy, TNM and National Bank of Malawi (NBM).

Share This Post