JB appoints Local Government commissioners

JB Apoints new Malawi President Joyce Banda has finally appointed six commissioners for the Local Government Service Commission (LGSC) which had none since the last cohort was dissolved in 2007.

LGSC executive secretary Bona Mjojo said on Wednesday the President has appointed Sophie Kalimba as chairperson with McDonald Maliro, Agnes Nkusa-Nkhoma, Andriana Mchiela, Patrick Ngauma, Wilfred Chinthochi as other commissioners.

Said Mjojo: “The President has appointed these commissioners to look at the concerns which include regulating appointments, terms and conditions of service and making rules prescribing measures for the discipline of staff in local authorities.”

He said the commission will also consider various promotions, which were not attended to.

Mjojo said the commissioners were sworn in by Chief Justice Lovemore Munlo on October 4.

The LGSC was established in 1981 through the Local Government Act to unify local government services of all local authorities in the country.

Share This Post