RVG names final squad

Malawi national football team coach Ronny Van Geneugden has named his final squad to face Morocco next Saturday in 2019 African Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifier in Rabat, Morocco.

Foreign-based players captain Limbikani Mzava, Gerald Phiri Jnr, John Banda, Jabulani Linje, Richard Mbulu, Gabadinho Mhango and Frank Banda are expected to join the camp Monday morning.

Midfielder Phiri Jnr and striker Gabadinho are back in the squad for the first time this year while Robert Ng’ambi and Schumacker Kuwali are injured.

Coach RVG said he was confident that the selected players will deliver in Morocco.

“It’s a blend of up-and-coming players and experienced ones,” he said.

The Flames are expected to leave on Wednesday next week.

Meanwhile, the Malawi will play Kenya in an International friendly match on Tuesday 11 September on their way from Morocco.

Football Association of Malawi (FAM) general secretary Alfred Gunda confirmed about the friendly match to be played at Moi International stadium.

The full squad is as follows

Goalkeepers: Charles Swini, Brighton Munthali, Rabson Chienda

Defenders: Denis Chembezi,Stanley Sanudi,Limbikani Mzava,John Lanjesi, Yamikani Fodya, Precious Sambani Sambani, Peter Cholopi, Gomezgani Chirwa.

Midfielders: Gerald Phiri,John Banda, Rafick Namwera,Alfred Junior Manyozo,Peter Banda, Frank Banda,Felix Zulu, Righteous Banda.

Strikers: Jabulani Linje, Richard Mbulu, Gabadinho Mhango, Atusaye Nyondo,Chiukepo Msowoya, Patrick Phiri.

Share This Post

One Comment - Write a Comment

Comments are closed.