Cosafa U-17 inspection Oct 4

Council for Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) is expected to inspect Malawi’s facilities for hosting Cosafa Under-17 Championship on October 4.

Malawi will host the regional youth championship from October 11 to 20 in Blantyre.

The regional body’s deputy chief executive officer SuzgoNyirenda confirmed the development in an interview yesterday.

Malawi Under-17 training at the
Chiwembe’s Mpira Stadium

“We are currently in Mauritius [who will host Under-17 Women’s Championship], to inspect the facilities. Next will be Malawi on October 4,” said the former Football Association of Malawi (FAM) general secretary.

Some of the key areas Cosafa is expected to inspect at match venues include football pitch, training fields, changing rooms, media gallery, medical services, stadia safety and sanitation.

The LOC chairperson JabbarAlide, who is also FAM head of competitions sub-committee, said they are confident that they will be ready for Cosafa inspection.

Alide said work at the main match venue, the Mpira Stadium in Chiwembe was also in progress.

“As for the work at Chiwembe’sMpira Stadium, one thing that was critical was the perimeter wall and the report I have is that it is progressing well and I hope it will finish on time.

 “The list of negotiated designated accommodation has also been shared with Cosafa, who will be responsible for that.

 “There was also the issue of training grounds. We have managed to identify some training grounds in Blantyre, including the Kamuzu Stadium,” he said.

Alide, who is also FAM executive committee member, said they were working with Department of Tourism, Department of Immigration and Malawi Police Service in preparation for the event.

Meanwhile, the Malawi Under-17 national team will regroup today in preparation for the tournament.

Since the tournament has crashed with the school calendar, the players will be allocated teachers to keep them abreast with their academic studies during the duration of the tournament.

The full squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Brian Kamenya, Wongani Chimkonde, Chimango Mughogho and Maxwell Makopa
Defenders: Precious Shaba, Innocent Chipolopolo, Sunganani Geoffrey, Clifford Chimulambe, Harrison Kapata, Akuzike Lifa, Thoko Meja and Maxwell Ng’ambi
Midfielders: Mayamiko M’madi, Chifundo Mbofana, Noel Sakala, Chuma Tukula, Harvey Nasiyaya, Oscar Khulumula, Festus Duwe, Amidu Mponda, Julio Chagunda, Kenneth Chagunda, Frank Mahowa and Wilson Kamphonda
Strikers: Chikumbutso Salima, Emmanuel Jnr  Savieli, Chikondi Mvula, Fatsani Chiusiwa, James Dimbwa and Andrew Sikola.

Share This Post

Powered by