Kamuzu Academy alumni donate K1.1m to Queens

Kamuzu Academy’s 1980s cohort has donateed K1.1 million to the Malawi Queens in appreciation of their impressive performance at the just-ended Netball World Cup held in Liverpool, England.

Presenting the cheque yesterday at Sunbird Lilongwe, the group’s representative William Nuka said the money is a modest appreciation of the team’s performance at the tournament.

Queens players representatives hold dummy cheque as they pose with some of Kamuzu Academy 1980s cohort

“With little resources, poor preparations but you defied the odds and reached position sixth from nine, competing against top teams who have all the resources [at their disposal]. That’s a great achievement worth rewarding,” he said.

Nuka  said the K1.1 million was mobilised through a WhatsApp group which the former Kamuzu Academy students from the 1980s formed.

“It’s a group of over 200 members from across the globe. Some are in the US, South Africa, Japan, Malawi and others were there in the UK, cheering the team. We were all very wowed with the performance and decided to contribute something to motivate the players to do more.

“This money is for the players and technical committee to share,” said Nuka, who was accompanied by seven other former Kamuzu Academy students.

He has since appealed to companies and individuals to do something for the Queens.

“It’s not government responsibility alone. We all must chip in something to motivate our girls to win the country trophies,”  Nuka said.

Queens goal  shooter  Joyce Mvula, who was accompanied by Takondwa Lwazi, Jane Chimaliro and assistant coach White Mlilima, said they were grateful for the gift.

“Life is tough. As players we go through a lot of hardships and this money will go towards alleviating some of the problems we are facing. We really are thankful,” she said.

Mlilima also said the money will motivate the players to do much next time.

The Queens beat Barbados, Singapore, Northern Ireland, Uganda and Zimbabwe, but lost to Australia, Jamaica and New Zealand, who were crowned champions after beating Australia 52-51 in the final.

Share This Post