Team Lilongwe wins Pakistan Independence Cricket

Team Lilongwe on Sunday secured a single-wicket triumph over Team Blantyre to win the Pakistan Independence Day Celebrations Cricket Trophy at Mpingwe Sports Club (MSC) in Blantyre.

Blantyre showed their intent to reclaim the Quaid-e-azam tournament when they batted first to make a total of 124 runs with a loss of six wickets in 20 overs, but Lilongwe chased down the score in just 16 overs for the loss of five wickets.

Team Lilongwe poses with cricket lovers
after their victory

Israr Ahmed was the architect of Lilongwe’s successful challenge as he made an individual contribution of 41 runs to take the man-of-the-match accolade as his team-mates Hafiz Usman and Salman Sunny emerged best bowler and best fielder, respectively.

Blantyre found solace in having Imran Khan as the best batsman.

“It feels great to wrest the trophy from the Blantyre on their home field. But it was not an easy road to glory,” said Team Lilongwe captain Adil Chaudry.

His Blantyre counterpart Karamat Chaudry said they played well only that luck was not on their side. He also congratulated the champions.

Pakistan Welfare Association chairperson Chaudry Azhar Mahmood and honorary consul of Pakistan in Malawi Raja Satti said the annual event was aimed at celebrating their country’s Independence Day, which falls on August 14. Mahmood also thanked indigenous Malawians for joining the Pakistan celebrations.

Share This Post

Powered by