Women Cosafa draw August 25


The draw for the 2017 Council for Southern Africa Football Association (Cosafa) Women Cup, set for September 13 to 24, will be held on August 25 in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Cosafa deputy chief executive officer Suzgo Nyirenda said they will conduct the draw during the regional body’s executive committee meeting.

So far, Botswana, Malawi, Mauritius, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Madagascar, Namibia, South Africa, Lesotho, Swaziland, Mozambique and Seychelles have confirmed participation, according to Nyirenda.

“There is also a possibility that Kenya might take part in the tournament, having expressed interest to participate as hosts,” he said.

Football Association of Malawi (FAM) technical director John Kaputa said he was confident that Malawi national women’s football team is capable of competing against the region’s best teams such as Zambia, South Africa and defending champions Zimbabwe.

Head coach Stewart Mbolembole is expected to name his squad this week before the team goes into camp next weekend.

This is the third time for Zimbabwe to host the Cosafa Women’s football tournament, having hosted the event in 2002 and 2011.

Zambia and Angola hosted the championships in 2006 and 2008, respectively.

South Africa has won the most titles with three wins in 2002, 2006 and 2008.

Zimbabwe has one title win it registered in 2011.

Share This Post